All About Asheville

Ah, Asheville. One of my favorites! I skirted by the ‘ville a bit during snowboarding season, but this month I finally made it a summertime long weekend in a cabin with my family. This post is a little of what I like about Asheville, NC.

First, the food! Cause y’all know I will research the crap out of food joints & find the best local places to throw down. I’ll start with my go-to, Chai Pani. Even if you haven’t tried Indian food (hey, my mom hadn’t, and she LOVED it), please check out this place. They infuse a bit of Southern flavor with their Indian dishes. I recommend the thali sampler plate.

On this latest trip, we tried out Tupelo Honey Cafe, because I’d heard a lot of friends rave about it. It was stellar. Hot biscuits with honey and homemade jam, slow-cooked pork ‘que tossed with jalapeno bar-b-que sauce and fried green tomatoes were my picks.

After you’re stuffed, you’ll want to walk that twenty pounds you just gained off. I forgot to mention, pop your car in the Wall Street Parking Deck – the first hour’s free and it’s close to everything. The city is great for strolling around (and people watching – look out for the cross-dressing nun on a unicycle). I recommend stopping in Woolworth Walk Art Gallery. 2-levels of awesome pieces from local artists for you to gain inspiration from. There are too many shops to mention, but you’ve got to pop in Mast General Store for some old-fashioned candy, and check out the dozens of  niche shops for handmade goods. There’s also Tops For Shoes, where I picked up a sweet pair of Merrells that I can’t wait to try out…c’mon winter! I loved the place and I’m not even a shoe snob.

Tops For Shoes is a multi-level shoe shopper’s dream

When we weren’t hanging out at our cabin, we decided to make a day-trip to Brevard, NC. The Hunger Games had filmed in the Dupont State Forest, so I did a little research and found out that Brevard is called “the land of waterfalls.” Our first stop was Triple Falls, where one of the movie scenes was filmed. We climbed up to the falls and enjoyed the view.

Scene filming in “The Hunger Games”

my photo of Triple Falls -1/2 way through the hike to the top

There are so many waterfalls, it was really hard to choose which ones to see on our short day-trip. For our second stop, we decided on Looking Glass Falls, in Pisgah National Forest. This is a good one if you don’t want to walk a ton. It’s literally right by the roadway, whereas Triple Falls was a small hike.

Photo I took on the way to Looking Glass Falls

Lastly, if you’re able to, I highly recommend the Blue Ridge Parkway. There are many access points to the Parkway. Our’s happened to be near milepost 364. We trekked up to Mount Mitchell (it was a chilly 55 degrees at the summit on that August day!) from Craggy Gardens, and pulled over about a dozen times at the overlooks to marvel at the breathtaking views.

Snapped this before we went into a tunnel approaching Craggy Gardens

At one of the many overlooks

Until next time – happy travelling!

Leave a Reply

